Blog Post 50

I’ve finally reached 50 posts. I think it’s taken me four years to do it. Hopefully at post 100 I’ll look back at this moment and say, “Haha, I used to be a lazy ass back then.” Or I’ll say, “How could I have gotten slower now?” Anyway…TDKR reviews came out a few hours ago. I haven;t read a single one, and I wasn’t tempted to. There are two reasons for that. First off, these days, professional critics are ***king assholes. Guys like Richard Corliss and Todd McCarthy have been revealing spoiling films for me by talking about plot points and major events and (in Richard Corliss’ case for The Avengers) Stan Lee cameos. I mean, a review isn’t a minute by minute record of what happens in a movie. Really irritating. Much worse than some reviewer breaking the studio embargo and publishing his review. Really, studios should sue these critics for spoiling their films. It negates the point of going to the theater to catch it. Anyway, the second point is that I’m so psyched for it (previous posts have illustrated why), and I don’t want any more information about the film. I didn’t watch the 13 minute production featurette because of that.

My father started watching Lost three days ago. For those of you who don’t know (in which case should be piled into gas chambers and…gassed) what Lost is, it’s a US TV show that aired between 2004 and 2010 and is one of the greatest TV shows of all time. I can’t really review a whole TV show (I can try highlighting my favorite things about Lost….) but I think Lost is just amazing. Sudhish (my boss) put me on to it because he’s a huge, huge fan of it (he has a Lost tattoo on his arm). After I quickly polished it all six seasons in less than a month, he gave me this box set:

It’s in the “Things to have before you die” list.
The box set has DVDs for all the seasons, and goodies that only Lost fans would know of. It’s truly brilliant packaging by the way (thank you, ABC, for redeeming yourself after that ridiculous extra bit after “The End”) because there are Easter Eggs all over the box and inside it too (it even has a board game, Lostaways….or Losties…or is it Lostites?). 
So, now that it’s established that I’m a Lost fan, my father has been hooked on to it like Charlie to heroin. He’s almost done with Season 1 (my title: Prologue)! Rahul wanted to “extract/rip” the stuff from the DVDs, but I subverted that massacre by making Mohan give him digital copies (Mohan, by the way, is one of my best friends from school and a TV freak. I think he’s gone through Lost, Prison Break, Boston Legal, Breaking Bad, Hustle, Friends, Community and some 24. The smart***k is going to Bristol in the UK this year for college, so if there’s any Brits out there reading this blog by accident, look him up). 
I finished reading The Spirit of Lagaan yesterday. It’s about how the Hindi film Lagaan was made. I was just surfing when I found this review for it: http://ashwinskumar.blogspot.in/2012/02/spirit-of-lagaan-by-satyajit-bhatkal.html (Kind of long :P)
Anyway, my Lagaan experience was in Hyderabad when it released. It created a kind of storm because of the way in which it was made. I was a kid, so a lot of this flew past me. The movie itself I don’t remember much of, except for the songs and the climax and a few other scenes. Plus, I didn’t know much Hindi (I haven’t seen it again, but plan on it after reading this book…not that I know much more Hindi now). The Spirit of Lagaan revisits the climate in which the film was made, including the following facts:
  • It was the first Hindi film to follow a single schedule, 6 month shoot, in Kutch. 
  • It was the first Hindi film in a long, long time to shoot with sync sound.
  • It was the first Hindi film that Aamir Khan produced on his own.
  • It was iconoclastic, breaking many of the established ways of making a movie in the Hindi film industry. 

The story is so brilliant that you can just dive into it and keep reading. I think I finished it in 10 days. It gives an aspiring filmmaker like me a lot of inspiration because at every aspect of filmmaking and shows how challenging yet rewarding the process is. The writing however is pretty amateurish a la Chetan Bhagat, but that really doesn’t matter because Satyajit Bhatkal, the author, is reporting true stories from the making of the movie. You should read it if you’re a film freak or if you’re searching for a story of the human spirit.

(I just found out that UTV Motion Pictures is a producer for World War Z. Nice! Except the film is going through all sorts of nonsense. Like they used real guns on the shoot and now they’re rewriting some of the movie. Brad Pitt must be shaking his head Billy Beane style)

Anyway…check out this Lost parody video for those of you who’ve finished the series…real funny: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrcF7dYADsw

And that was Blog Post 50. Nothing “eventful” like a Lost season finale…but still…a milestone for me.

Leave a Reply

