NaPoWriMo 2013 #6

The Bitter Lover

I wish I knew, I wish I knew
The man who came and stole your heart.
I wish I knew, I wish I knew
How he came to tear us apart.
Was it love at first sight?
Or a love that bloomed with your eyes wide shut?
I’ll bet it happened without remorse,
You were always that kind of slut.
I should have seen it coming
‘Twas too good to be true.
And now these are the laments of
An animal, rattling his cage in Heartbreak Zoo.
I wish I knew, I wish I knew.
But why do I wish, when I knew all along,
Our love was an old-fashioned song,
Cobbled together by rusted instruments,
The remains of an earlier eon.
He broke into your mind
And stripped you of your dignity,
(And so too your respect for me)
And pumped freshness in your veins.
Aye, now your purpose was renewed,
You wouldn’t even sit around to brood.
All that’s left was to say
Goodbye.
I’m sorry for not being the kind of lover
That loves you all the time.
Fate played us an ugly hand, but then
You could’ve stuck around to salvage it,
Or at least to say you tried.
Ah well, the Xanthippe that you are
I’m sure this will only go so far
Until he’s sick and tired, just see
And then you’ll be running back to me
So I’ll wait patiently.

10 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2013 #6

  1. Hi there this is a lovely poem , full of emotion. May i be a pain and ask you what today prompt is I cannot find it anywhere , it has not been updated from yesterdays from from what I can see! Sorry to ask you in your comment bosx

  2. I have to say how cleverly you have mixed,anger, spite and sarcasm. Saying all the things we only think off after we have made a fool of ourselves …………. love it !! would he really have her back…. yes I think he would!! :)

Leave a Reply

