A Letter To My Followers

Dear Realiction Readers,

When I woke up this morning I saw a letter from WordPress regarding a new theme for their Theme Thursday weekly update. The theme was Truly Minimal from FlareThemes, and when I saw it, I knew I had to change this blog’s design. For a while now I have been searching for a design that gave me the beautiful text focused feel of our last theme, Manifest, while also giving readers a superior navigational experience, which Manifest didn’t provide.

The problem with Manifest was that if users wished to navigate they either had to go to the Archives page or to the bottom of the Home Page, and I found this extremely cumbersome. No other theme would do the job for me, except Truly Minimal. Now some of you might say that I acted in haste and some of you might say that this is a step forward for Realiction. I myself do not know whether this change is here to stay, but right now is looks like a step forward in the right direction.

The goal of better navigation has been achieved with a sidebar on the right, with a Time Machine of archives and a Category Cloud. I’ve thrown in a search bar as well for those of you who want really specific posts, but bear in mind that the search bar isn’t for tags, it’s for words within each post. So say you wanted to search for a post on James Bond and ended up with one of personal posts that has a joke about James Bond, that’s no glitch. There are 7 interactive widgets on the sidebar, and two for Creative Commons purposes.

The header is a work-in-progress at the moment because, the design mongoloid that I am, I messed up the image size that’s optimal for a header. And there are a couple of things that are different from Manifest and Truly Minimal that you will pick up as you move around the site. But I hope that you will get used to it, as I am currently.

As you may have noticed, I have been posting a poem each day. That’s because April is National Poetry Writing Month, as you can see from the button on the sidebar and so this month will be filled with poetry. I have been getting some great responses so far, so I know I’m doing something right. Today I’ll be trying out a different kind of poem that might just become a regular format on the blog, stay tuned!

To conclude, I’d like to say Thank You for your support in different ways and for continually coming back to read what I’ve been writing. I wouldn’t be sticking around if not for you guys.

Yours truly,
Nikhil Venkatesa

P.S. Let me know if Truly Minimal is Truly Realiction in the comments, whether you like it or you want Manifest to come back.

2 thoughts on “A Letter To My Followers

Leave a Reply

