Pop Culture Pantun

I challenge you to write a pantun. Not a pantoum— though they are related. The pantun is a traditional Malay form, a style of which was later adapted into French and then English as the pantoum. A pantun consists of rhymed quatrains (abab), with 8-12 syllables per line. The first two lines of each quatrain aren’t meant to have a formal, logical link to the second two lines, although the two halves of each quatrain are supposed to have an imaginative or imagistic connection.

I’ve decided to take on this prompt, only with a small twist: each pantun is based in pop culture. The connection between the two halves can be an author, or movie, or cartoon or artwork, whatever. But it’s there, and I dare you to find the answers (with explanations) for each of them.

Don’t you hate it when the devil’s rejects
Conduct conference calls in a movie?
Unemployed computer hackers don’t stay for long in abject,
Poverty, resourceful they can be.

As I lay dying,
I imagined my favorite dish.
Here’s an example of my lying:
My mother is a fish.

Who’s afraid of Virginia Wolfenstein,
She doesn’t mutate under the moonlight.
The hours tick slowly in the DMV line
And the officers are so trite.

Give me a royale with cheese
And you’ll kill any diet I’ve been on.
Ving Rhames is often brutally teased
Because he can’t speak Klingon.

I think my only inherent vice
Is the paper bag over my head.
It’s a miracle Newton didn’t have lice
And was smart enough not to be bled.

Attribution: BanksyNOLASimpsonsA by Infrogmation, CC-BY-2.0

Leave a Reply

